Down time, happy time, be-more-positive time

To me, down time means no-supervisor contact. Down time is always happy time because it means that I could take my time with my research, writing at my own pace, thinking of different escapades ideas for my thesis, and cruising through the PhD with less stress.

Does this means the root of my stress comes from these supervisory meeting?? (I got to think of a way to think more positively about meeting my supervisors)

Recently, I read an article about turning happiness into an advantage written by Shawn Achor, author of The Happiness Advantage. It was interesting to start off with the question, which comes first: happiness or success? He also suggested 5 researched habits which we could try out for 21 days in a row to be more positive:

1. Write down what you’re grateful for

2. Focus on the positive

3. Exercise

4. Meditate

5. Send a positive email

Related article: 10 scientifically proven ways to be incredibly happy or you can watch Shawn Achor’s TED speech on how happiness inspires productivity (a happy chap indeed, all the happiness research must have kept him very happy!).

Perhaps to solve my negative feelings on supervisory meeting, I should try one of the methods. But then again, I AM happy when I am away from my supervisors… and by being happy, I feel much more motivated to write and read.

Perhaps on a more positive note, I should assume that I am writing to impress my supervisors. If I fail to impress them in the meeting, it means I get another chance to impress/surprise them.

Sounds positively legit to me.

Leave a Reply

